An Industrial Arts shop was added to the west end of the brick building in 1953, with Van Cartwright as the first shop teacher. A gymnasium, more classrooms and a music room were added in 1956, to the east end of the same structure.
Also added were more classrooms and an office to the west end. At this time Home Economics was offered, with Mary Cartwright as the first teacher.
In 1976, a new high school was completed a short distance east of the 1920 structure, on the south side of University Street. It boasts a swimming pool, an auditorium, gymnasium and all up-to-date equipment. More recently, a greenhouse and larger offices have been added.
In 1993, a new elementary school was dedicated. It is located just east of the high school. The building has a large gymnasium, a library, offices, a dining hall and many classrooms.
The 1920 structure was demolished in 1998, and a new middle school built between the additions on both ends, which were left untouched. Because of an overflow of students at the elementary school, beginning with the 2001-2002 school year, the middle school includes grades five, six, seven, and eight.
In 2003, William Vincent retired as Superintendent of Schools after serving 24 years in that capacity. Ronald Walsh is the current Superintendent, with Paul Weber as High School principal, Mike Ballard [now Eric Wright] is Middle School Principal and Eric Hanson is Elementary Principal.
This excerpt is from the book, History of Elk Mound, by Marvin and Charlotte Cartwright. Thank You to Charlotte Cartwright for her permission to reprint this history of our school district, with edits, from her book.